If you want to purchase tobacco products in Vermont, you will now need to be at least 21-years-old as a piece of legislation passed back in May went into effect today.

The bill, S. 86, also raises the minimum age to possess tobacco product, and violators will be subject to s a fine of $25. On the retail side, anyone selling tobacco to a person under 21 will be subject to a fine of $100 for a first offense and $500 for each subsequent violation. There is no exemption for members of the military, which has been found in legislation in other states.

Texas and Arkansas also saw their minimum age to purchase tobacco products go to 21-years-old today, meaning 13 states and the District of Columbia now have Tobacco 21 laws in place. Maryland, Connecticut, Ohio, Washington and Utah will be increasing their tobacco purchase ages to 21 in the coming months.

Overall Score

Avatar photo

Patrick Lagreid

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and previously the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for Major League Baseball, plus I'm a voice over artist. Prior to joining halfwheel, I covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for Examiner.com, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.