Senators Propose Raising Minimum Tobacco Purchasing Age to 19 in Texas

Null

A bill that would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco in the state of Texas from 18 to 19 is currently in the Texas Senate.

Senators Carlos Uresti, D-19, Juan Hinojosa, D-20, and Joan Huffman, R-17, have introduced S.B. 648—a bill that would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco to 19. The bill simply modifies existing age laws, meaning if passed anyone found selling tobacco to those under 19 could be charged with a Class C misdemeanor with a fine of $500.

Null

The changes would also mean anyone under the age of 19 would not be allowed in a retail humidor in the state of Texas.

S.B. 648 is currently in the Health & Human Services committee.

0 Overall Score

Null
Charlie Minato
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts

Null