Minnesota now has its fourth city to raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco, electronic cigarettes, and other nicotine delivery products to 21-years-old.
On Tuesday night, the Plymouth City Council passed the increase by a 4-3 vote, joining Edina, St. Louis Park, and Bloomington as cities in the state to pass the Tobacco 21 increase. It goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2018.
Retailers who violate the law will face a misdemeanor penalty, with fines starting at $500 for a first offense and reaching a maximum of $2,000. A store’s tobacco license can also be suspended or revoked for multiple violations with a 24-month period.
With a population of 76,000 residents, Plymouth is the seventh-largest city in Minnesota. It is located approximately 11 miles west of Minneapolis.