Healdsburg, Calif. Raises Minimum Purchasing Age to 21

Null

After over 10 months of debate, Healdsburg has become one step closer to becoming the first city in the state of California to make it illegal for those under the age of 21 to purchase tobacco. As expected, the decision came last night with the Healdsburg City Council voting 4-1 in favor of the new law at its first reading. A second reading and vote is required for the proposal to become law.

Not only will the new law make it illegal for those 18-20 to purchase tobacco within city limits, but it’s also going to cost retailers who sell tobacco. Under the new law, which is slated to go into effect in December, will now require a new license to sell tobacco products. That will cost $450 per year with the money allegedly going to help pay for enforcement. Not paying for the license will be pharmacies, because the City Council made it illegal for pharmacies to sell tobacco.

Null

Healdsburg is located in Sonoma County, north of San Francisco, with a population of nearly 11,500 people.

0 Overall Score

Null
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts

Null