Even though Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuett opined that an increase to the minimum age to purchase tobacco products in Ann Arbor, Mich. was likely in violation of the state’s Age of Majority Act, on Tuesday morning the Genesee County Board of Commissioners voted 7 to 2 to pass an increase of their own.
The increase will go into effect in 90 days, which makes the start date May 14, assuming no legal challenge is brought up first. In a report from MLive.com, the county’s attorney warned that the increase could come with unintended consequences for the county, including a violation of the oath commissioners took to uphold the Constitution, which could be considered willful neglect of duty. That would be considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to a year in prison and up to a $1,000 fine, according to report.
Genesee County has a population of approximately 425,790 people, which makes it the fifth-most populous county in Michigan. It is located approximately 75 miles northwest of Detroit and includes the city of Flint, which is the county seat.