The mimimum age to purchase tobacco products or e-cigarettes in the state of Connecticut is now 21.
Today, the state’s tobacco purchasing age increase goes into effect. The bill was passed by the legislator in the spring and signed into law by Gov. Ned Lamont in June. The fines for selling tobacco to those under the minimum age will also increase. Those caught in violation will now be subject to a $300 for the first offense, up from $200; a second offense is no $750, up from $300; and a third violation could incur a fine of $1,000, up from $500.
Those caught trying to purchase tobacco products under the age of 21 are subject to a $50 fine.
In addition to increasing the minimum age to purchase tobacco, the new law also increases the annual tobacco dealer’s license fee from $50 to $200.
Connecticut joins over a dozen other states who have increased the minimum age to purchase tobacco to 21.