Beginning June 1, anyone wishing to buy tobacco in Cohasset, Mass. will need to be at least 21-years-old, as the town’s board of health recently approved an increase to the minimum age requirement.

The increase is part of four new tobacco related regulations in the town, which includes a ban on the sale of flavored tobacco products except in tobacco specialty stores; a cap of seven tobacco sales permits in the town; and an increase in the fines for retailers who violate any of the new ordinances. First time violations will now carry a $300 fine, while second offenses come with the fine and a seven day suspension of the store’s tobacco sales permit. A third violation means the store’s permit will be suspended for 30 days in addition to the fine, according to Wicked Local Cohasset.

The town tried to pass a similar increase in 2014, but couldn’t reach an agreement on the proposal.

Cohasset is located approximately 15 miles southeast of Boston on the state’s eastern coast and has a population of approximately 7,500 residents.

Avatar photo

Patrick Lagreid

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.