Virginia’s Tobacco Purchasing Age Goes to 21 Today

Null

Today, Virginia becomes the latest state to make 21-years-old the minimum age to purchase tobacco products and tobacco alternatives, as legislation passed in February officially goes into effect.

The legislation was passed by the House of Representatives by a 62-32 vote, while the Senate cleared it with 32-7 vote in February. Gov. Ralph Northam wasted little time signing it into law on Feb. 21.

Null

The bill, H.B. 2748, includes an exemption for active duty military personnel, meaning that if such an individual is able to product valid identification, they would only need to be 18-years-old to purchase tobacco, e-cigarettes or vaping products.

Also included is language that will remove tobacco vending machines from places where persons under 21-years-old might have access to them. It does not completely ban such vending machines, however, allowing them as long as the facility in which they are located is restricted to persons of the new legal smoking age.

0 Overall Score

Null
About the author

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for MLB.com, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for Examiner.com, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.

Related Posts

Null