Beginning this November, Oklahoma will no longer issues fines to those under the age of 21-years-old caught illegally purchasing or possessing tobacco products.

Gov. Kevin Stitt recently signed into law H.B. 3315, which removed the existing fine for those under the age of 21. Previously, people could be fined $100 for a first violation and $200 for subsequent violations. Now, the punishment will be an educational program offered through the Oklahoma Department of Health.

Of note, the bill only affects the punishments for those caught buying or possessing tobacco. It does not change the statue for those caught selling or providing tobacco to someone under the age of 21.

The change takes effect Nov. 1.

Charlie Minato

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.