Minimum Tobacco Purchasing Age Increase Proposed in Virginia

Null

A trio of lawmakers has introduced a new bill that would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 to 21 in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

S.B. 1217 has been introduced by Sen. Thomas Norment, R-3; Sen. Bryce Reeves, R-17; and Sen Richard Saslaw, D-35. In addition to raising the minimum age to purchase tobacco products, it would also “add nicotine, vapor products and alternative nicotine products” to the list of tobacco products.

Null

The change would also mean that individuals under the age of 21 might not be able to enter certain cigar shops in the state.

The bill does not adjust the fines associated with violating the existing law. Individuals caught trying to purchase tobacco products could be subject to fines of up to $100 for the first violation, $200 for the second and $500 for the third. Retailers who sell to those under the legal age are subject to $500 in civil penalties for the first violation, $100 for the second and $2,500 for any additional violations.

CaliforniaHawaiiMaineMassachusettsNew Jersey and Oregon have all raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco and tobacco alternatives to 21-years-old.

0 Overall Score

Null
Charlie Minato
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts

Null