Braintree, Mass. Passes Tobacco Purchase Age Increase


The Braintree, Mass. Board of Health voted 2-0 on June 19 to raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco products in the town from 18 to 21, a change that will go into effect on October 1.

Like several other bills around the country that have been raised the minimum purchase age, Braintree’s new law goes after sellers, with a five-day suspension of a retailer’s tobacco sales permit for a first violation, a $100 fine and a mandatory training program for all employees that sell tobacco that must be completed within 30 days. Second violations carry a 10-day suspension of the permit and a $300 fine, while third offenses will cost a retailer $500 as well as a 30-day suspension of the sales permit. Should a business be found in violation of the new age requirement a fourth time, its license can be suspended for a year.


The new age requirement also applies to e-cigarettes and other nicotine delivery devices.

Braintree is a suburb south of Boston with approximately 35,000 residents.

0 Overall Score

Patrick Lagreid
About the author

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.

Related Posts