Garden City, Kan. has raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco form 18 to 21.
The Garden City Commission approved the increase 4-1, which goes into law this summer, yesterday. Effective July 1, you will need to be 21 years of age to purchase any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes.
Anyone under the age of 21 caught with tobacco will be subject to a $25 fine. If you are caught selling or giving tobacco to anyone under the age of 21 you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and fined $200.
Garden City is located in the southwest part of the state, about 65 miles east of Colorado and 65 miles north of Oklahoma. It has a population over 25,000 and is located in Finney County.