Effective July 1, the minimum age to purchase tobacco in Wyoming will be 21-years-old.
On Friday, Gov. Mark Gordon signed SF 50, a bill that would increase the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18- to 21-years-old. The new rule also covers vaping products.
Retailers caught in violation of the new law will face a fine of $250 for a first offense and $500 for any offense that takes place within two years after the first offense.
Wyoming is one of a growing number of states where Tobacco 21 laws have passed following a change in federal law.
On Dec. 21, 2019, President Trump signed H.R. 1865, a $1.4 trillion spending bill that also increased the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 to 21.
The U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) has stated that upon signing that the new law went into effect immediately. It is halfwheel’s understanding that while the law might have changed, FDA likely lacks the authority to enforce the 21-years-old minimum age standard until after a few procedural steps, which likely would be completed by the end of 2020. However, the Premium Cigar Association (PCA), National Association of Convenience Stores (NACS) have advised their retail members to comply with the increase to 21 as a precautionary measure.
FDA has stated that it is not yet enforcing the 21-years-old standard through its compliance checks program.