A bill to raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco products is advancing through the West Virginia legislature, as today S.B. 348 advanced out of the Senate Health and Human Resources Committee and onto the Judiciary Committee.
The bill seeks to raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 to 21-years-old, though it would not change the age to possess or use tobacco products, leaving that at 18-years-old. It has already gained bi-partisan support by way of eight co-sponsors.
A pair of similar bills failed to advance out of committee last year.
West Virginia is one of roughly 20 states considering similar legislation to make 21-years-old the minimum age to purchase tobacco products. Currently, six states have already enacted such a law: Hawaii, California, Oregon, New Jersey, Maine and Massachusetts.