A bill that would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco from 18 to 21 in the Commonwealth of Virginia has moved one step closer to becoming law.
Yesterday, S.B. 1727 overwhelmingly passed the Virginia Senate by a vote of 32-8. The bill would not only increase the age to purchase tobacco to 21, but also would require people entering cigar shops to be 21.
The bill does not adjust the fines associated with violating the existing law. Individuals caught trying to purchase tobacco products could be subject to fines of up to $100 for the first violation, $200 for the second and $500 for the third. Retailers who sell to those under the legal age are subject to $500 in civil penalties for the first violation, $100 for the second and $2,500 for any additional violations.