Vermont Tobacco Purchasing Age Increase Proposal Stumbles in Senate


An effort to raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco in the state of Vermont from 18 to 21 hit a roadblock on Friday when it failed to pass a roll call vote.

Interestingly, it had barely passed a similar roll call vote only a day before. Sen. John Rodgers, D-Essex-Orleans, voted in favor of S.88 on Thursday, while he voted against it on Friday. Because of that, the bill did not reach the required 15 votes it would need to pass a formal vote. While the bill is not dead, it has been ordered to lie, meaning it can be voted again, but no further action is planned.


A report from the Burlington Free Press indicated some were concerned the state might lose an estimated $2 million of tax revenue over the next three years.

California and Hawaii are the only two states that have passed laws requiring individuals to be 21 to purchase tobacco though a variety of states have active bills that would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco.

0 Overall Score

Charlie Minato
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts