Vermont Age Increase Dies in Senate

Null

In late March, two roll call votes were conducted on a measure that would have raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco products in the state of Vermont from 18 to 21.

One vote, held on Thursday March 22, showed the bill has enough support to pass. A day later, the roll call vote showed the bill did not. It’s unclear what beyond some procedural changes to the bill’s text changed, but the bill was ordered to lie, meaning it was not dead, but was not scheduled for any further votes at that time.

Null

A further vote took place today and it failed. Amendments were made to the bill hoping to gain enough votes for it to pass, though it ended up failing 13-16.

An earlier from the Burlington Free Press indicated some were concerned the state might lose an estimated $2 million of tax revenue over the next three years.

California and Hawaii are the only two states that have passed laws requiring individuals to be 21 to purchase tobacco though a variety of states have active bills that would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco.

0 Overall Score

Null
Charlie Minato
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts

Null