Trenton, N.J. has become the latest city to raise the minimum age that an individual must be to purchase tobacco products, as on Thursday the city council approved an increase that will go into effect in just 20 days, with just one of the seven members not supporting the proposal.
While certainly not the hot bed of age increases that Massachusetts has been, cities and towns in New Jersey have been steadily passing similar increases, and the state now has 22 municipalities that have increased the age from the state’s current minimum of 19-years-old. Proposals for a statewide increase have been introduced and passed in the legislature, only to be pocket vetoed by Gov. Chris Christie last year. A new proposal was introduced last February and remains in committees within both chambers.
The increase applies to all tobacco products as well as e-cigarettes and vaping devices, the latter of which was added via an amendment and had delayed the vote twice, as the council has had this on its agenda since early January.
Retailers that sell to an underage person can face fines between $250 and $1,000, as well as possibly having their license revoked after multiple violations.
Trenton is the capitol of New Jersey and home to nearly 85,000 residents, making it the 10th largest municipality in the state.