At the stroke of midnight this morning, the minimum age to purchase tobacco products in Texas went to 21-years-old, unless you’re part of a small group of young adults getting an exemption..

The age increase came as a result of the passage of S.B. 21, passed the Senate by a 27-4 vote and the House of Representatives by a 110-36 vote earlier this year. Gov. Greg Abbott signed the bill into law in early June. In that bill is a grandfather clause that will allow anyone born on or before Aug. 31, 2001—i.e. anyone that could legally buy tobacco in the state the day before the law goes into effect—to continue to be allowed to purchase tobacco. People born on or after Sept. 1, 2001 would be subject to the new law.

Also in the bill is an exemption for members of the federal or state armed forces who present valid military identification, as long as they are at least 18 years old.

The bill also prevents any municipality within the state from adopting or enforcing an ordinance regarding the minimum age to purchase cigarettes, e-cigarettes or tobacco products in general that is more stringent than the state’s law.

Patrick Lagreid

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.