Instead of getting a tax cap or lower tax rate for premium cigars, the Legislature made just one change to how cigars are taxed in Wyoming. Retailers can now wait to pay the taxes until after the products are sold.
The current text calls for cutting the tax on premium cigars from 20 percent to 10 percent. For most cigar smokers, this is probably a step backwards compared to the legislation that passed the Wyoming Senate last month.
The average cigar would decrease in cost between $1-$2 if the bill passes.