There will soon be one less city in Massachusetts where 18-year-olds can purchase tobacco products, as on Monday the Springfield City Council unanimously approved an ordinance that will raise the minimum purchase age to 21-years-old.

An effective date for the increase was not included in the agenda packet prepared for Monday’s meeting, but a report from WWLP.com indicated that it will be in place by the summer. Fines for retailers who sell to a person under 21-years-old will start at $100.

Springfield is home to just over 154,000 residents. It is located 91 miles west of Boston.

Update (Feb. 24, 2018) — The increase will go into effect on July 1, 2018, according to a report from WesternMassNews.com

Patrick Lagreid

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for MLB.com, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for Examiner.com, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.