As expected, the Princeton Board of Health passed a resolution that raises the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 19 to 21 in the New Jersey town.

Last night, the Board unanimously approved the proposal which will fine retailers $250 for the first violation, $500 for the second and $1,000 for any subsequent violations. The resolution will not have to be approved by the City Council for it to become law. E-cigarettes are included under the new laws.

Princeton has a population of just over 29,000 residents and is best known for being home to Princeton University. It is located about 37 miles southwest of Newark in Mercer County.

There is a proposal to raise the minimum purchase age to 21 statewide in the New Jersey Senate. Princeton becomes the fifth New Jersey city to raise its minimum age following EnglewoodGarfieldSayreville and Teaneck.

Avatar photo

Charlie Minato

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.