Plymouth, Mass. Raising Tobacco Purchase Age to 21

Null

Even though the state of Massachusetts has enacted a law that will raise the minimum purchase age for tobacco products to 21-years-old, the town of Plymouth wants to expedite the increase as the Plymouth Board of Health passed a new regulation that will raise the age as of Dec. 28.

It’s a contrast to the increase recently signed into law at the state level, which provides a grandfather clause for persons who attained the age of 18 before Dec. 30, 2018. However, the state law  still subjected individuals to any municipal ordinance or other regulation that prohibited sales of tobacco products or vapor products to persons under the age of 19, 20 or 21 in effect on December 30, 2018. It was this clause that appears to have spurred on a number of cities and towns, including Plymouth, to enact laws that effectively eliminate the grandfather clause.

Null

Plymouth is home to approximately 59,000 residents. It is located 40 miles southeast of Boston.

0 Overall Score

Null
Patrick Lagreid
About the author

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for MLB.com, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for Examiner.com, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.

Related Posts

Null