On Feb. 1, Rep. Ben Loring, D-Oklahoma City, will introduce HB 2317, a bill that would change the minimum age to possess or purchase tobacco from 18 to 21 in the state of Oklahoma.
The bill would amend Oklahoma’s current laws, meaning it would also be illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to have to handle tobacco as part of their job. Fines will remain the same: $100 for the first offense, up to $200 for the second and up to $300 for the third and any subsequent violation within a two-year period. In addition to the fine, any business caught in violation would potentially lose their license to sell tobacco.
The rules would also apply to vapor products.
On Jan. 1, Hawaii became the first state with a law requiring individuals to be 21 to purchase tobacco.