Null
Null

North Adams, Mass. Approves Increase of Tobacco Purchase Age

Null

As of Aug. 1, you will need to be at least 21-years-old to purchase tobacco products in North Adams, Mass., thanks to the city’s board of health approving the increase yesterday.

Retailers will bear the burden of enforcing the new age requirement, with signage required that indicates the new minimum age. Also passed by the board are new regulations that cap the number of tobacco permits in the city to 23, while prohibiting new tobacco retailers from opening up within 500 feet of a school. Single cigar sales are now banned unless they are priced at $2.50 or above, while flavored tobacco products are limited to smoking bars and retail tobacco stores and the sale of blunts is now completely banned.

Null

Violators of the new rules can face fines between $25 and $750.

The passage of the new regulations was confirmed by iBerkshires.com.

North Adams is located in the northwest corner of the state and is home to approximately 13,500 residents.

0 Overall Score

Null
Null
Patrick Lagreid
About the author

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for MLB.com, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for Examiner.com, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.

Related Posts

Null