Null
Null

New Jersey Becomes Third State to Raise Tobacco Purchasing Age to 21

Null

A year and a half after refusing to sign a tobacco purchasing age increase, Gov. Chris Christie did just that.

Earlier today, Christie signed into law a bill that will raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco from 19 to 21.

Null

Effective Nov. 1, it will be illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase tobacco in the state. Retailers will be subject of fines between $250-1,000 should they sell to someone under the age.

Smoking and possession of tobacco products will still be legal for those under the age of 21.

While the bill overwhelmingly passed the state’s Assembly and Senate, it was unclear whether Christie, who is in his last term as governor, would sign it. Last January, he pocket vetoed a similar measure, refusing to sign the bill and preventing it from becoming law.

New Jersey joins California and Hawaii as the only states to have a minimum purchasing age of 21.

0 Overall Score

Null
Charlie Minato
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts

Null