City leaders in Long Beach, N.Y. have unanimously approved an ordinance that will raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco and nicotine delivery products to 21-years-old.

The vote came at the Long Beach City Council meeting on Tuesday, with the change going into effect on March 1, 2018.

Violators will face a minimum fine of $50 and up to seven days of jail time for selling or otherwise providing tobacco products to a person under 21-years-old, with a maximum fine for a third violation reaching $3,000 and up to 15 days in jail.

Long Beach is home to approximately 34,000 residents. It is located in Nassau County, just south of Long Island, approximately 35 miles southeast of New York City.

Avatar photo

Patrick Lagreid

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.