Lane County, Ore. has become a bit of a hotbed of anti-tobacco legislation lately; in January the county approved a parks smoking ban, and today the Board of Commissioners and Board of Health voted to increase the minimum age to purchase tobacco from 18 to 21-years-old, making it the first county in Oregon to approve such an increase.
The increase will go into effect on April 13, and those who are already 18 but not 21 years of age will not be grandfathered in and allowed to continue purchasing tobacco products, which includes electronic smoking devices and anything used to prepare or consumer tobacco, such as filters, rolling papers, pipes, and substances used in electronic smoking devices, whether or not they contain nicotine, according to an announcement from the county. However, individuals working in retail stores will be allowed to continue selling tobacco as long as they are 18-years-old.
Interestingly, the Lane County Board of Health is comprised of the five elected Lane County Commissioners; however, it operates as a separate decision-making body with responsibilities that are dictated by statute.
Lane County is located in western Oregon and has a population of just over 356,000 people. It includes the city of Eugene, home to the University of Oregon.