Null
Null

Idaho Tobacco Purchasing Age Increase Dies in Senate

Null

A bill that would have raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco from 18 to 21 in the state of Idaho was defeated earlier today in a Senate committee.

The Senate State Affairs Committee voted 5-4 against S.B. 1106, a bill that would have not only raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco, but fined those found trying to purchase tobacco underage. The fine, a $17.50 penalty, was mocked during the hearing. It was somewhat of a rare proposal as most fines in this type of legislation are assessed only to those found guilty of selling tobacco to those under the minimum purchasing age.

Null

Retailers would continue to face fines starting at $100 for selling to an underage person, an amount that goes to $400 for second and third offenses and can come with a suspension of one’s tobacco sales permit.

California and Hawaii are the only two states where you must be 21 to purchase tobacco, though a variety of states have active bills that seek to change their respective laws.

0 Overall Score

Null
Charlie Minato
About the author

I am an editor and co-founder of halfwheel.com/Rueda Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.

Related Posts

Null