Garden City, Kan. has raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco form 18 to 21.

The Garden City Commission approved the increase 4-1, which goes into law this summer, yesterday. Effective July 1, you will need to be 21 years of age to purchase any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes.

Anyone under the age of 21 caught with tobacco will be subject to a $25 fine. If you are caught selling or giving tobacco to anyone under the age of 21 you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and fined $200.

Garden City is located in the southwest part of the state, about 65 miles east of Colorado and 65 miles north of Oklahoma. It has a population over 25,000 and is located in Finney County.

Avatar photo

Charlie Minato

I am an editor and co-founder of Media, LLC. I previously co-founded and published TheCigarFeed, one of the two predecessors of halfwheel. I handle the editing of our written content, the majority of the technical aspects of the site and work with the rest of our staff on content management, business development and more. I’ve lived in most corners of the country and now entering my second stint in Dallas, Texas. I enjoy boxing, headphones, the Le Mans 24-hour, wearing sweatshirts year-round and gyros. echte liebe.