Yet another Massachusetts town has made it illegal to purchase tobacco products for those under the age of 21.
Framingham, Mass. announced that the minimum purchasing age will raise from 18 to 21 on July 1, 2015. A report from Wicked Local indicates that Lester Hartman, the Massachusetts pediatrician who has made it his mission to raise the minimum purchasing age in his state, designated Framingham as the 40th community where to increase the purchasing age.
Retailers who are caught selling to those under the age of 21 could receive a fine of $100 for the first offense and a three-day suspension of their license. A second offense would draw a 21-day suspension and $300 fine and a subsequent offense would result in the revocation of a license.
In addition, the city will limit the amount of tobacco permits from 76 to 60, although current stores are grandfathered in. The Board of Health voted 2-1 to not ban tobacco sales in pharmacies, although the matter will be revisited. In addition, flavored tobacco and products under $2.50 will continue to be sold in retailers who are not specialized tobacco stores.
Framingham is home to just under 70,000 residents and is located about 21 miles west of Boston.