The minimum age to purchase tobacco products in Cleveland, Ohio is now 21-years-old. The increase from the previous minimum age of 18-years-old comes 120 days since Mayor Frank G. Jackson signed the ordinance that was approved by the city council on Dec. 7, 2015.

Retailers will bear the burden to enforce the law, as any person who looks under 30 and attempts to buy tobacco or e-cigarettes must have their identification checked. Should a retailer sell to a person under 21, they will face a class four misdemeanor, punishable by a $250 and up to 30 days in jail. Repeat offenses could earn a second-degree misdemeanor, which would mean up to 90 days in jail.

There are no fines or penalties for a person under the age of 21 using or possessing tobacco products or electronic smoking devices.

Cleveland is the second largest city in Ohio, with a population of  just over 390,000 residents.

Avatar photo

Patrick Lagreid

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and previously the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for Major League Baseball, plus I'm a voice over artist. Prior to joining halfwheel, I covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.