California’s state parks and beaches could soon become places unwelcoming to smokers, as the California legislature has passed SB 1333, sending it to Gov. Jerry Brown for his signature.
Currently, it is illegal to smoke a cigarette, cigar, or other tobacco-related product within 25 feet of a playground or tot lot sandbox area. SB 1333 would take that and expand it to state coastal beaches or state parks, with a special provision that addresses not just smoking, but the disposal of a used cigar or cigarette.
While signage would be developed and installed to indicate that particular areas are smoke-free, there is a provision in the bill that allows the director of parks and recreation to designate small areas within parks and beaches as places where people could smoke.
Should the governor sign off on the bill, it would go into effect once signage has been installed, meaning it could be a gradual rollout across the state. Violators would be subject to a fine of $250.
Additionally, the legislature approved a ban on smoking on the campuses of schools in the California State University and California Community College systems that would start in 2018. Violators would be subject to a first violation fine of $25 that increases to $100 for a third violation.