Minnesota’s list of municipalities that have raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco products to 21-years-old now stands at two dozen, as on Monday night the Bemidji City Council passed its own ordinance by a 5-1 vote.
The increase will go happen in late April, as it is slated to go into effect 30 days following its passage and publication. The increase also applies to e-cigarettes, with retailers subject to a fine of $60 for selling tobacco or tobacco alternatives to a person under 21-years-old.
Bemidji is now in line with Beltrami County, which approved its own ordinance in January. Bemidji is located in northern Minnesota and home to just over 15,000 residents.