Adams County Becomes First in Mississippi to Raise Tobacco Purchase Age

Null

On Monday, Adams County became the first county in Mississippi to raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 to 21-years-old.

However, the impact is somewhat limited, as the change does not apply within cities inside the county, much like the increase that was approved in Santa Clara County, Calif. in June 2015, as state law allows cities to have final say in such matters, according to the Natchez DemocratThe county has forwarded a copy of the new law to Natchez city leaders with the hope that they will adopt the same increase in the county’s largest city.

Null

It will be the individual retail salespeople who will bear the burden of the increase, as they are subject to a fine of $500 and a 30-day ban of employment at a tobacco retailer should they sell to a person under 21 years of age. Second and subsequent violations carry a $1,000 fine and a 90-day ban.

Adams County is located in the southwest corner of the state with an estimated population of 32,000 people.

0 Overall Score

Null
Patrick Lagreid
About the author

I strive to capture the essence of a cigar and the people behind them in my work – every cigar you light up is the culmination of the work of countless people and often represents generations of struggle and stories. For me, it’s about so much more than the cigar – it’s about the story behind it, the experience of enjoying the work of artisans and the way that a good cigar can bring people together. In addition to my work with halfwheel, I’m the public address announcer for the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks during spring training, as well as for the Salt River Rafters of the Arizona Fall League, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury and the Arizona Rattlers of the Indoor Football League. I also work in a number of roles for MLB.com, plus I'm a voice over artist. I previously covered the Phoenix and national cigar scene for Examiner.com, and was an editor for Cigar Snob magazine.

Related Posts

Null